How Much Do Dental Implants Cost in BC? An Abbotsford Dentist's 2026 Guide
Updated: 2 days ago
Updated September 8, 2026 | Camden Dental, Abbotsford, BC | Reviewed by Dr. Pin Gill, DMD
Direct Answer
Dental implants in BC typically cost $3,500 to $6,500 for a single tooth including the fixture, abutment and crown, $8,000 to $16,000 for an implant-supported bridge, and $20,000 to $38,000 per arch for a fixed full arch. Bone grafts, sinus lifts and sedation add to the quote. The Canadian Dental Care Plan excludes implants entirely.
TL;DR
Single implant in BC: $3,500 to $6,500 all-in; implant bridge $8,000 to $16,000; fixed full arch $20,000 to $38,000 per arch
A single-implant quote has seven line items; the surgery and the crown carry most of the cost and are often billed months apart
Bone grafts ($300 to $1,500 and up), sinus lifts ($1,000 to $3,000) and extractions ($150 to $600) explain most quote-to-quote differences
"From $2,299" style prices are starting points with steps left off; normalise any two quotes to the same seven lines before comparing
The CDCP lists implants, bone grafts and fixed bridges as exclusions that can't be appealed; it does cover extractions and conventional dentures
Private plans usually pay 50 percent up to a $1,000 to $2,500 annual maximum; HSAs and the medical expense credit can cover more
One liner: Implant prices in BC vary because quotes bundle different steps; read the line items, not the headline.
Key Numbers
Figure | Value | Source |
Single implant, BC, all-in | $3,500 to $6,500 | Bluebird, Mount Lehman, 2026 [1][4] |
Implant-supported bridge | $8,000 to $16,000 | Parkside, Willow, 2026 [2][3] |
Fixed full arch, per arch | $20,000 to $38,000 | Parkside, Medora, 2026 [2][8] |
Bone graft | $300 to $1,500 and up | Willow, 2026 [3] |
Sinus lift | $1,000 to $3,000 | Willow, 2026 [3] |
10-year implant survival | 96.4% (implant level) | Howe et al., J Dent, 2019 [13] |
CDCP co-payment tiers | 100% / 60% / 40% by family net income | ESDC, Aug 2026 [9] |
Typical private plan annual max | $1,000 to $2,500 | Golden Mile, 2026 [11] |
What dental implants cost in BC in 2026
In short: A single dental implant in BC, including the fixture, abutment and crown, typically runs $3,500 to $6,500. An implant-supported bridge replacing three or four teeth lands roughly between $8,000 and $16,000. A full arch on four to six implants usually starts around $20,000 and can reach $38,000 per arch.
Those are the three numbers you'll meet on almost every BC clinic website, and they're a fair starting point. They're also the reason patients walk into consultations confused. Five BC dental practices published implant cost pages in 2026, and their single-implant ranges start anywhere from $3,000 to $4,000 and top out anywhere from $5,500 to $6,800 [1][2][3][4]. None of them are wrong. They're describing different bundles.
Treatment | Typical BC range (CAD, 2026) | What's usually inside the number |
Single-tooth implant | $3,500 to $6,500 | Titanium fixture, abutment, implant crown. Sometimes the CBCT scan and surgical fee, sometimes not. |
Implant-supported bridge (3 to 4 teeth on 2 implants) | $8,000 to $16,000 | Two fixtures, two abutments, a bridge spanning the gap. Grafting billed separately. |
Full arch (All-on-4 or All-on-6) | $20,000 to $38,000 per arch | Four to six fixtures, a fixed hybrid bridge, extractions and a provisional set. Sedation often separate. |
Sources: Bluebird Dental 2026 [1], Parkside Dental Group 2026 [2], Willow Dental Care 2026 [3], Mount Lehman Dental 2026 [4]. Vancouver-proper clinics tend to publish ranges a few hundred dollars higher than Fraser Valley clinics, which one 2026 comparison attributes to rent and staffing costs rather than any difference in the work [2].
Two things to keep in mind as you read the table.
First, "per tooth" pricing stops meaning much past a single implant. An implant bridge replaces three or four teeth on two fixtures, so the cost per tooth replaced drops even though the total rises. A full arch replaces twelve to fourteen teeth on four to six fixtures, which is why a $24,000 arch is often less than the price of six individual implants [3]. When a clinic quotes "per tooth," ask whether they mean per implant placed or per tooth replaced. The two numbers can differ by a factor of three.
Second, BC doesn't publish a consumer price list for implants. The BC Dental Association produces a suggested fee guide for dentists, but it isn't a public document and clinics aren't bound by it, so the ranges above come from what practices choose to publish rather than from a regulated schedule [5]. That's also why an ad promising an implant and crown "from $2,299" and a written quote for $5,800 can both be legitimate. One is a starting price for the simplest possible case with several steps excluded. The other is an all-in estimate for a specific mouth.
Which steps get excluded, and what each one costs, is what the next section covers. If you'd rather talk through your own case than read the parts list, the dental implants at Camden Dental page explains how Dr. Gill approaches the first visit.
Implant, abutment, crown: the line items behind single tooth implant cost in BC
In short: A single-tooth implant quote in BC usually contains seven items: the exam and CBCT scan, treatment planning, the implant fixture, surgical placement, a healing abutment, the final abutment, and the crown. Two of those (the surgery and the crown) carry most of the cost, and they're often billed months apart.
"A dental implant" is shorthand for a sequence of procedures spread over three to six months. The fixture goes in first. The bone then grows onto it, a process called osseointegration, and only after that heals does the abutment and crown get made [3][4]. Because of that gap, many clinics issue two invoices: a surgical phase and a restorative phase. A "from" price can honestly cover phase one alone, which is the first thing to check when a number seems low.
Here's what each line typically looks like on a BC quote.
Line item | What it is | Typical BC range (CAD) | Ask this |
Exam and CBCT scan | 3D imaging that shows bone height, width and nerve position | $150 to $450 | Is the scan included, or billed separately? |
Treatment planning and surgical guide | Digital plan, sometimes a printed guide for placement | $0 to $500 | Is a guide being used, and is it in the fee? |
Implant fixture | The titanium (or zirconia) post placed in the jaw | $1,200 to $2,200 | Which implant system, and is it a premium or value brand? |
Surgical placement | The dentist's fee to place the fixture | Often bundled with the fixture; $1,800 to $2,800 combined | Does this include the healing abutment and post-op visits? |
Healing abutment | Temporary cap that shapes the gum during healing | $100 to $300, often bundled | Bundled or separate? |
Final abutment | The connector between fixture and crown; stock or custom | $400 to $900 | Stock or custom? Custom matters on front teeth. |
Implant crown | The visible tooth; zirconia, porcelain-fused-to-metal, or lithium disilicate | $1,200 to $2,200 | Screw-retained or cemented? Lab fee included? |
Component ranges are estimates assembled from published BC clinic figures [1][2][3][4][6]. Add the middle of each row and you land near $5,000, which is where most complete BC single-implant quotes sit [1][4].
Three of those rows deserve a closer look, because they're where two quotes for the same tooth quietly diverge.
Stock versus custom abutment. A stock abutment is a pre-made titanium connector. It's cheaper and works well on back teeth. A custom abutment is milled to match your gum contour and the angle of the fixture, which matters when the implant replaces a front tooth and the gumline is visible when you smile. Some quotes list a stock abutment by default. If the tooth is in your smile line, ask.
Crown material. Zirconia is the most common choice on BC quotes now for its strength and colour stability. Porcelain-fused-to-metal costs a little less and has a long track record but can show a grey line at the gum over time. Lithium disilicate is the most translucent, which makes it a good match for front teeth, and it typically sits at the top of the range [3].
Screw-retained versus cemented. A screw-retained crown attaches through a small access hole that gets filled with composite. A cemented crown is glued onto the abutment. Screw-retained often costs slightly more up front but can be removed for servicing without cutting it off, which usually saves money over the life of the implant.
One item that rarely appears on the quote but affects the price is the implant system itself. Premium systems carry more long-term research and wider component availability if the crown ever needs replacing. Value systems can perform well too, but if a clinic closes or the brand is discontinued, matching parts gets harder. It's fair to ask which system is planned and why.
Everything above assumes healthy bone and a straightforward site. The next section covers what changes when it isn't.
Bone graft cost, sinus lifts and other extras on a BC implant quote
In short: Four add-ons account for most of the gap between a base implant price and the final quote: bone grafts ($300 to $1,500 and up), sinus lifts ($1,000 to $3,000), extractions ($150 to $600) and sedation. None of them are upsells by default. The CBCT scan decides which ones you need.
The single-implant ranges above assume a healthy site with enough bone. Plenty of Fraser Valley patients have that. Plenty don't, especially when the tooth came out a year or more ago, because the jawbone starts shrinking as soon as it has nothing to hold. That's what the CBCT scan is for. It measures bone height and width in millimetres and shows where the sinus and nerves sit, and it's the reason two people with the same missing tooth get different quotes [4].
Add-on | When it's needed | Typical BC range (CAD) | Can it be avoided? |
Bone graft (socket preservation) | At the time of extraction, to keep the socket from collapsing | $300 to $800 | Often avoided if the implant is placed the same day |
Bone graft (ridge augmentation) | When the ridge has already shrunk too thin or short for a fixture | $800 to $1,500 and up | Rarely, once the bone is gone |
Sinus lift | Upper back teeth, when the sinus floor sits too close to the ridge | $1,000 to $3,000 | Sometimes, with a shorter implant or a different site |
Extraction (simple or surgical) | When the failing tooth is still in place | $150 to $600 | No, but it may be covered separately (see the CDCP section) |
Sedation | Patient preference or complex cases | Nitrous from about $100; oral sedation $200 to $500; IV sedation $500 to $1,500 | Yes, for most single implants under local anaesthetic |
Temporary tooth (flipper or bonded temp) | Front teeth, to fill the gap during healing | $300 to $800 | No, if the tooth is visible |
Add-on ranges from Willow Dental Care 2026 [3] and Mount Lehman Dental 2026 [4]; sedation tiers are estimates.
Why timing changes the graft. Picture two patients who each lost a lower molar. The first had it extracted six months ago with a small socket graft placed at the same visit. Her CBCT shows a full ridge, and her quote has no grafting line at all. The second had his pulled two years ago with nothing placed in the socket. His ridge has narrowed, and his quote includes ridge augmentation plus a four-month wait before the fixture can go in. Same tooth, same clinic, roughly $1,200 apart. That's an illustrative pairing rather than a Camden case, but it's a pattern we see often. If you're still deciding whether to extract a failing tooth, it's the strongest argument for planning the implant before the extraction rather than after.
Sinus lifts, briefly. The maxillary sinus sits directly above the upper back teeth. When those teeth are lost, the sinus floor tends to drop and the bone beneath it thins. If there isn't enough height for a fixture, the dentist lifts the sinus membrane and adds bone under it. The internal (crestal) version is done through the implant site and costs less. The lateral window version is a separate surgery with its own healing period, and it sits at the top of the range [3].
Immediate placement. In some cases the fixture can go into the socket on the same day as the extraction. That skips a surgery, often skips the graft, and shortens the whole timeline. It's not available for every site, particularly when there's active infection or too little bone at the base of the socket, so treat it as something to ask about rather than expect.
Sedation. Most single implants are placed under local anaesthetic, the same freezing used for a filling. Nitrous oxide adds a small fee. Oral sedation (a pill before the appointment) costs more. IV sedation costs the most and may involve a separate fee for the anaesthesia provider. For a full arch, sedation is closer to standard than optional.
One coverage point worth knowing now: the Canadian Dental Care Plan lists bone grafts as an exclusion, meaning they're never covered under any circumstances, while an extraction of a diseased tooth can be covered on its own merits [7]. The CDCP section below walks through that in detail.
Replacing several teeth: implant bridge, All-on-4 and overdenture costs in BC
In short: When more than one tooth is missing, implants don't have to be placed one per tooth. An implant bridge uses two fixtures to replace three or four teeth ($8,000 to $16,000). A snap-in overdenture uses two to four fixtures to stabilise a removable denture ($8,000 to $15,000 per arch). A fixed full arch uses four to six fixtures to replace every tooth ($20,000 to $38,000 per arch).
The single-implant math stops applying once you're replacing several teeth in a row, because fixtures can carry more than one tooth each. That's good news for the total, but it also means three quotes for "replacing my back teeth" can describe three different structures. Here's how they compare.
Option | Fixtures | Teeth replaced | Typical BC range (CAD) | Fixed or removable |
Implant-supported bridge | 2 (sometimes 3) | 3 to 4 adjacent teeth | $8,000 to $16,000 | Fixed |
Implant-retained overdenture (snap-in) | 2 to 4 per arch | Full arch, on a removable denture | $8,000 to $15,000 per arch | Removable, clicks onto locators |
Fixed full arch (All-on-4 or All-on-6) | 4 to 6 per arch | Full arch, 12 to 14 teeth | $20,000 to $38,000 per arch | Fixed, screw-retained hybrid |
Ranges from Parkside Dental Group 2026 [2], Willow Dental Care 2026 [3] and Medora Dental 2026 [8].
Three singles or one bridge. Say you're missing three adjacent lower molars. Three individual implants at a mid-range $5,000 each come to about $15,000. A two-implant bridge spanning the same gap typically runs $9,000 to $12,000 [2][3]. The bridge saves a fixture and a surgery. The trade-off is that a bridge is one piece, so if one crown chips, the whole span comes off for repair, whereas three singles can be serviced one at a time. Neither is wrong. The right pick depends on bone at each site and how much you value the lower price against the easier repair.
The middle option most pages skip. An implant-retained overdenture is a conventional-looking denture that snaps onto two to four small attachments (locators) on the implants. It comes out at night for cleaning, doesn't slip the way a standard denture can, and costs a fraction of a fixed arch. For a patient who already wears a lower denture and hates the movement, this is usually the first option to consider, not All-on-4.
What "teeth in a day" means on a quote. Fixed full-arch treatment is often marketed as teeth in a day, and that's accurate as far as it goes. On surgery day the failing teeth are extracted, four to six fixtures are placed, and a provisional acrylic arch is attached so you never leave without teeth. The final arch, usually zirconia or a titanium-acrylic hybrid, is made after the bone heals over three to six months. A full-arch quote should list both arches. If it lists only one, ask whether the final is included, because the upgrade from provisional to final is where some "from $20,000" quotes climb past $30,000.
Per arch is not per mouth. Full-arch prices are quoted per arch. A full mouth is two arches, so a $24,000 arch is a $48,000 mouth. Some cost pages list a single-arch range under a "full mouth" heading, which is worth checking before you compare.
What full-arch quotes usually bundle, and what they often don't. Bundled: extractions, the fixtures, the surgery, sedation, the provisional arch, and follow-up visits. Often separate: the final zirconia arch (versus an acrylic hybrid), a night guard to protect the new teeth, and any grafting or sinus work found on the scan. Ask for the line items the same way you would for a single tooth.
One coverage note before the next section: the Canadian Dental Care Plan lists both fixed bridges and implant-supported dentures as exclusions, so none of the three options above can be submitted to it, even the removable overdenture [7]. A conventional complete denture without implants can be, and the CDCP section covers what that's worth.
Why two implant quotes can differ by $2,000
In short: Two quotes for the same tooth usually differ for six reasons: what's bundled, who places the fixture, which implant system, where the crown is made, what warranty applies, and whether the price came before or after the CBCT scan. Normalise both quotes to the same seven line items and most of the gap disappears.
If you've collected two quotes and they're $2,000 apart, resist the urge to assume one clinic is overcharging. Line them up against the seven items above and check these six things.
What's bundled. The most common reason. One quote includes the scan, a custom abutment and the crown; the other is the surgical phase only.
Who places the fixture. If a general dentist refers you to a periodontist or oral surgeon for placement, you'll get two quotes from two offices. The surgeon's fee plus the restoring dentist's fee is the real total.
Which implant system. Premium systems cost the clinic more per fixture, and that shows up in your price. Ask what's planned and why.
Where the crown is made. A local lab and an offshore lab can differ by $300 to $600 on the same crown. That's a fair saving in some cases, but ask about remake terms and turnaround.
What warranty applies. Some clinics cover the fixture for five to ten years and the crown for a shorter period. A quote without warranty language isn't wrong, but it's worth a question.
When the quote was written. Any number given before the CBCT scan is a ballpark. A quote that changes after the scan isn't bait and switch. It's the scan finding the graft or sinus lift nobody could see on a regular X-ray.
A "from" price, decoded. A chain advertising across the Fraser Valley offers an implant and crown from $2,299. Set that beside a $5,800 written estimate from a local practice and the promo looks like a bargain. Put both through the seven rows and the picture changes.
Line item | "From $2,299" (as advertised) | $5,800 written estimate |
Exam and CBCT | Not stated | Included |
Treatment planning / guide | Not stated | Included |
Implant fixture and placement | Included (system not stated) | Included, premium system named |
Healing abutment | Not stated | Included |
Final abutment | Stock, if included | Custom |
Crown | Included, material not stated | Zirconia, screw-retained, local lab |
Extraction, graft, sedation | Not included | Not needed on this scan |
The advertised figure is a starting price for the simplest case with the least expensive components and several steps left off. That's not dishonest. Starting prices are legal and common. The mistake is treating it as an all-in number. Once you add a scan, a custom abutment and a named crown material, the gap between the two quotes tends to close to a few hundred dollars. Sometimes it flips.
A short example. Picture a patient with two quotes $2,100 apart, ready to book the cheaper one. Walking through the rows, the lower quote turns out to cover the fixture, a stock abutment and a crown of unspecified material, with the scan and post-op visits billed separately. The higher quote includes the scan, a custom abutment, a zirconia crown and two years of follow-up. Normalised to the same bundle, they're about $400 apart. She still has a decision to make, but it's a decision about a $400 difference and a warranty, not a $2,100 difference. Illustrative, not a Camden case, but it's how most quote comparisons go.
The practical version. Ask every clinic for the same thing: a written, itemised estimate produced after the CBCT scan, listing the implant system, abutment type, crown material, lab, and warranty. If a clinic won't itemise, that tells you something too. If you'd like that from us, book an implant consultation and you'll leave with exactly that document.
Does the CDCP cover dental implants? What the 2026 guide says
In short: No. The Canadian Dental Care Plan's Dental Benefits Guide, effective April 1, 2026, lists implants and all implant-related procedures, bone grafts, and fixed bridges as exclusions. Exclusions are never covered and can't be appealed or requested as exceptions. The plan does cover extractions and conventional dentures, subject to income-based co-payments.
This is the question we get most often in implant consultations, and it's also the one where BC clinic websites disagree with each other. Some say implants "may be covered based on medical necessity." At least one advertises full-arch implant dentures with "CDCP support." One page manages to state the exclusion and then, a few paragraphs later, promise partial reimbursement "with preauthorization." The plan's own guide, published by Employment and Social Development Canada and administered by Sun Life, says otherwise, and it says it in three separate places [7]. That's why this section cites the guide by section number rather than summarising it.
What the guide says, by section. Appendix E, the exclusions list, names "implants and all implant-related procedures," "bone grafts," and "fixed prosthodontics (bridges and all bridge related procedures)." The guide defines exclusions as procedures "always outside the scope of the CDCP and are not eligible for coverage at any time." Section 6.3.5.1, on crowns, adds that crowns supported by implants "are not eligible for reconsideration." Section 6.6.1 confirms that implant-supported complete and partial dentures are exclusions too, which rules out the snap-in overdenture described earlier [7].
Why there's no exception route. Appendix E does allow a provider to request an exception for a service that's outside the plan's scope. It then says, in the same paragraph, that this doesn't apply to exclusions, and that even for eligible requests, approval is "expected to be extremely rare." Implants are exclusions. The door isn't narrow. It's closed [7].
Here's how each item on a typical implant treatment plan lines up against the plan.
Item on an implant plan | CDCP status (2026 guide) |
Implant fixture, surgical placement | Exclusion, never covered [7] |
Abutment and implant crown | Exclusion, not eligible for reconsideration [7] |
Bone graft, ridge augmentation, sinus lift | Exclusion [7] |
Implant-supported bridge or overdenture | Exclusion [7] |
CBCT scan | Not listed in the benefit grids; treat as not covered [10] |
Panoramic X-ray | Covered, 1 per 60 months [7] |
Extraction of a diseased tooth | Covered on its own clinical merits [7][9] |
Sedation | Covered only alongside an eligible procedure [7] |
Conventional complete denture (no implants) | Covered; overdentures and partials need preauthorization [7] |
One nuance on the extraction. Section 2.0 of the guide says the plan "does not cover any procedures related to non-eligible" services. In practice, an extraction of a failing tooth is a covered service in its own right, and most offices bill it that way. But sedation for that extraction, or imaging ordered specifically to plan the implant, may not follow. Ask before you assume, which is the plan's own advice: the coverage page tells clients to confirm with their provider what won't be covered before accepting treatment [9].
What the plan does pay for. If you're CDCP-eligible and considering a conventional denture instead of implants, the plan covers standard complete dentures without preauthorization, at these rates [9]:
Adjusted family net income | CDCP pays | You pay |
Under $70,000 | 100% of the CDCP established fee | 0%, plus any amount the clinic charges above the CDCP fee |
$70,000 to $79,999 | 60% | 40%, plus any amount above the CDCP fee |
$80,000 to $89,999 | 40% | 60%, plus any amount above the CDCP fee |
Note the last column. CDCP fees are set by the plan and often sit below what a clinic charges, so even at 100% coverage there can be a balance owing [9]. That's true of dentures. It's irrelevant to implants, because there's no CDCP fee for them at all.
If you were counting on the CDCP to soften an implant quote, the honest answer is that it won't, and no clinic can make it. What private insurance can do is the next section.
How private insurance and Health Spending Accounts treat implants in BC
In short: Most BC group dental plans treat implants as major restorative work, reimburse around 50 percent, and cap the year at $1,000 to $2,500. The annual maximum, not the percentage, is usually what limits the payout. Health Spending Accounts and the federal medical expense tax credit can cover more than the plan itself.
Private coverage is where implants become partly affordable for many patients, but the plan document rarely reads the way people expect. Here's the typical structure and the four questions to ask before booking.
The math that matters. Say your implant, abutment and crown come to $5,200 and your plan covers major restorative at 50 percent with a $1,500 annual maximum. The plan doesn't pay $2,600. It pays $1,500, because the maximum applies first. You pay $3,700. Most plans in Canada that cover implants at all reimburse at 50 to 60 percent and carry maximums in the $1,500 to $2,500 range [11]. Some plans, particularly basic ones, don't list implants as a covered service.
Four questions for your insurer.
Are dental implants listed as a covered major service, or excluded?
What's my annual maximum, and how much of it is left this year?
Does the plan have a missing-tooth clause or an alternate benefit clause?
Do you need a predetermination before treatment starts?
Two clauses that catch people. A missing-tooth clause means the plan won't pay to replace a tooth that was already missing when your coverage began. If you lost the tooth years ago and changed jobs last spring, check this first. An alternate benefit clause means the plan pays what the least expensive adequate treatment would have cost, usually a bridge or partial denture, and you cover the difference. The implant is still allowed. The reimbursement is smaller than the coverage percentage suggests.
Predetermination. Private plans call it predetermination, the CDCP calls it preauthorization, and it's the same idea: the clinic submits the treatment plan and codes, and the insurer confirms in writing what it will pay. For anything above a few hundred dollars, get one. It turns a guess into a number and takes about two to four weeks.
Using two benefit years. Because the surgical phase and the crown are separated by months of healing, some patients place the fixture late in one benefit year and finish the crown early in the next, drawing on two annual maximums. This only works when the plan resets on a calendar year and the clinical timeline lines up. It's worth asking about. It isn't worth rushing a crown for.
Health Spending Accounts. If your employer offers a Health Spending Account, it usually reimburses any expense the Canada Revenue Agency considers an eligible medical expense, and dental implants qualify. There's no coinsurance and no category limit, only the account balance. For a $5,000 case, an HSA with $2,000 in it stacked on a plan paying $1,500 brings the out-of-pocket to $1,500 [12].
The medical expense tax credit. Eligible dental costs, including implants, can be claimed on a Canadian tax return as medical expenses. It's a non-refundable credit, not a rebate, and it only applies to costs above a threshold tied to your income, so it matters most on larger full-arch cases. Ask an accountant how it applies to you; this isn't tax advice, only a reminder that the line exists [12].
Coordination of benefits. Two plans in the household, yours and a spouse's, can be coordinated so the second picks up part of what the first didn't. Order of claims follows the insurers' rules, but the combined payout can approach the full cost on a single implant.
Lower-cost routes that aren't insurance. Two other options exist for patients without coverage. The BC Dental Association maintains a directory of reduced-cost clinics across the province, some of which are income-tested [14]. The UBC Faculty of Dentistry also treats patients at reduced fees through its supervised student and graduate clinics, with longer appointment times and a slower overall timeline. Neither route makes implants CDCP-covered, and neither is a fit for every case, but both are worth knowing about before deciding an implant is out of reach.
None of this changes the quote. It changes how much of it lands on you. The next section puts implants beside the alternatives so the full cost comparison is on one page.
Implants vs bridge vs denture: the 10-year cost comparison
In short: A conventional bridge ($3,000 to $5,000) or partial denture ($1,200 to $2,500) costs less than a single implant up front. Over ten years the gap narrows, because bridges are often replaced within that window and dentures need relines. A 2019 systematic review put 10-year implant survival at 96.4 percent.
Most cost pages stop at the day-one number. That's the wrong number for a decision you'll live with for decades. Here's what each option for one missing back tooth tends to cost over ten years, using BC ranges from earlier sections and typical maintenance cycles. Treat the totals as estimates; hygiene, bite, and grinding habits move them.
Option | Upfront BC range (CAD) | Likely costs, years 1 to 10 | Estimated 10-year total |
Single implant with crown | $3,500 to $6,500 | Routine hygiene; possible crown repair or replacement late in the window ($1,200 to $2,200) | $3,500 to $8,700 |
Three-unit conventional bridge | $3,000 to $5,000 | Replacement commonly needed at 10 to 15 years; risk of root canal ($900 to $1,500) on a crowned abutment tooth | $3,000 to $11,500 |
Partial denture (one tooth) | $1,200 to $2,500 | Relines every 2 to 3 years ($300 to $500 each); one replacement within 5 to 8 years | $2,700 to $6,000 |
Ranges assembled from the sections above and typical BC maintenance fees.
Why the implant column is the most stable. The 2019 systematic review by Howe, Keys and Richards pooled 18 studies and found a 10-year implant-level survival estimate of 96.4 percent, with a more conservative sensitivity analysis at 93.2 percent [13]. Survival in those studies means the fixture is still in place and functioning. Crowns on implants can chip or wear like any crown, which is why the table includes a possible replacement, but the fixture itself rarely needs to be redone within ten years.
The hidden cost of a bridge. A conventional three-unit bridge is anchored by crowning the two teeth on either side of the gap. Those neighbours are often healthy, and crowning them removes enamel that doesn't come back. When the bridge eventually fails, whether from decay under a crown margin or a fracture, the abutment teeth have less structure left, and one of them may need a root canal or become the next tooth to be replaced. The upfront saving is real. So is the bill in year twelve.
What dentures do and don't do. A partial denture is the lowest-cost option and the only one on this table the CDCP will consider covering for an eligible patient [7]. It rests on the gums and clips to neighbouring teeth, comes out at night, and needs periodic relines as the ridge changes shape. That last point matters: without a tooth root or an implant loading it, the jawbone under a denture or a bridge keeps slowly resorbing. An implant transfers chewing force into the bone, which is one of the reasons dentists recommend it when the bone and budget allow.
When the alternative is the right call. Implants aren't always the answer. A patient with too little bone and no appetite for grafting, someone managing a medical condition that complicates surgery, or a person who needs a tooth replaced now on a limited budget may be better served by a bridge or a partial. Those are sound treatments with long track records. The point of the table isn't that implants always win. It's that "cheaper" should be measured across the years you'll use the tooth, not the day you pay for it.
A short before-after. A patient chooses a bridge at 45 for $4,000. At 58 it fails; one abutment tooth needs a root canal and the bridge is remade for $5,500. By 60 she's spent about $10,000 on that one gap. Her sister chose an implant at 45 for $5,200 and, at 60, has replaced the crown once for $1,600. Illustrative, not a Camden case, but the pattern is common enough that we walk through it in most consultations.
Getting your own itemised implant quote in Abbotsford
In short: The only accurate implant price is one written after an exam and a CBCT scan. At Camden Dental, a consultation gives you both, plus a line-by-line estimate that names the implant system, abutment, crown material and any add-ons, and a predetermination sent to your insurer. No decision is required that day.
Everything above gives you ranges. Your mouth gives you a number, and the only way to get it is to have someone look. Here's what a first implant visit at Camden Dental involves.
Exam and CBCT scan. Dr. Gill examines the site and the neighbouring teeth, then takes a 3D scan to measure bone height and width and locate the sinus and nerves. This is the step that decides whether a graft or sinus lift appears on your quote.
Options walkthrough. You'll hear the case for an implant and the case for a bridge or partial, with both priced. If an implant isn't the right choice for your bone, health or budget, the consultation says so.
Itemised written estimate. Every line from the quote breakdown above, filled in for your case: implant system, stock or custom abutment, crown material and retention, lab, warranty, and any add-ons the scan found. It's the document you can set beside any other quote.
Predetermination submitted. If you have a private plan, the office sends the treatment codes to your insurer so you know what it will pay before you commit. The annual maximum matters more than the percentage, as the insurance section explains.
Time to decide. The estimate is yours to take home. Nobody books surgery in the consultation chair.
If you're a CDCP client. Camden Dental can provide the services the plan covers, including extractions and conventional dentures, with the co-payment rules described above applied. Implants and grafts fall outside the plan for every provider in Canada, so if you're weighing an implant, the estimate will show the full private cost with no CDCP line, and your predetermination will go to your private insurer if you have one.
Who reviewed this guide. This article was reviewed for clinical accuracy by Dr. Pin Gill, DMD of Camden Dental in Abbotsford. Dr. Gill graduated with Honours from the University of Manitoba's dental program in 2012, practised as an associate in Abbotsford before taking over the practice with Dr. Allison Atchison in 2024, and has a particular professional interest in surgical dentistry. The cost ranges come from published BC clinic figures, and the CDCP wording comes from the plan's own 2026 Dental Benefits Guide, cited by section so you can check it yourself.
Ready to trade ranges for a number? Book an implant consultation online, or read more about dental implant treatment at Camden Dental first if you'd like the clinical detail before you come in.
Frequently Asked Questions
How much does a single dental implant cost in BC?
A single implant with abutment and crown typically costs $3,500 to $6,500 in BC. Straightforward cases with healthy bone sit at the lower end; cases needing a graft, sinus lift or custom abutment sit higher.
How much do dental implants cost in Abbotsford?
Abbotsford clinics publish single-implant ranges of roughly $3,000 to $6,000, in line with the rest of BC. The final figure depends on the CBCT findings and what the quote bundles.
What's included in a dental implant quote?
A complete quote lists the exam and CBCT scan, treatment planning, the implant fixture, surgical placement, a healing abutment, the final abutment and the crown. Ask whether each is included, since starting prices often cover the fixture only.
How much does a bone graft cost for a dental implant?
In BC, socket preservation at extraction runs about $300 to $800 and ridge augmentation $800 to $1,500 or more. A sinus lift for upper back teeth costs $1,000 to $3,000.
Does the CDCP cover dental implants?
No. The CDCP Dental Benefits Guide effective April 1, 2026 lists implants and all implant-related procedures as exclusions, which are never covered under any circumstances.
Can I appeal a CDCP denial for implants?
No. The guide states that exclusions are not eligible for reconsideration, and the exception pathway in Appendix E applies only to services that are outside scope but not listed as exclusions.
Does the CDCP cover the extraction before an implant?
An extraction of a diseased tooth is a covered CDCP service in its own right. Imaging or sedation ordered specifically to plan the implant may not be, so confirm with your provider before treatment.
Does private dental insurance cover implants in BC?
Many group plans cover implants as major restorative work at around 50 percent, subject to an annual maximum of $1,000 to $2,500. Missing-tooth and alternate-benefit clauses can reduce the payout, so request a predetermination.
Why do dental implant quotes differ so much?
Quotes differ mainly in what they bundle, who places the fixture, which implant system and lab are used, what warranty applies, and whether the price came before or after the CBCT scan. Normalising two quotes to the same line items usually closes most of the gap.
Is a dental implant cheaper than a bridge over time?
Often, yes. A bridge costs less up front but is commonly replaced within 10 to 15 years and requires crowning two neighbouring teeth. Over ten years the totals frequently overlap, and the implant preserves the adjacent teeth.
How long does a dental implant last?
A 2019 systematic review of 18 studies reported a 10-year implant survival rate of 96.4 percent. The crown may need repair or replacement sooner, but the fixture itself usually lasts well beyond a decade.
How long does the dental implant process take?
A typical single implant takes three to six months from placement to final crown, because the fixture needs time to fuse with the jawbone. If a bone graft is needed first, add three to four months of healing. Some sites qualify for same-day extraction and placement.
Does getting a dental implant hurt?
The area is fully frozen with local anaesthetic, and most patients report less discomfort than they expected. Mild soreness or swelling for a few days afterward is normal and usually managed with over-the-counter pain relief. Sedation is available for anxious patients or complex cases.
Definition Bank
Term | Plain-English definition |
Implant fixture | The titanium or zirconia post surgically placed in the jawbone that acts as the artificial tooth root. |
Abutment | The connector piece attached to the fixture that holds the crown. Stock abutments are pre-made; custom abutments are milled to match the gum contour. |
Implant crown | The visible replacement tooth attached to the abutment, usually zirconia, porcelain-fused-to-metal or lithium disilicate. |
Osseointegration | The process by which bone grows onto the implant surface and locks it in place, typically over three to six months. |
CBCT scan | A cone-beam 3D X-ray that measures bone height and width and locates the sinus and nerves before implant placement. |
Bone graft | Material added to the jaw to rebuild bone volume, either at extraction (socket preservation) or later (ridge augmentation). |
Sinus lift | A procedure that raises the sinus membrane and adds bone beneath it so an upper back implant has enough height to anchor. |
Implant-supported bridge | A fixed row of three or four replacement teeth carried on two or three implants. |
Implant-retained overdenture | A removable denture that snaps onto two to four implants for stability and comes out for cleaning. |
All-on-4 | A fixed full-arch bridge supported by four (sometimes five or six) implants, often delivered with a provisional arch on surgery day. |
CDCP exclusion | A procedure the Canadian Dental Care Plan defines as always outside its scope and never eligible for coverage or reconsideration. |
Predetermination | A written confirmation from a private insurer of what it will pay for a proposed treatment, requested before treatment starts. The CDCP uses the term preauthorization. |
Missing-tooth clause | A private plan rule that excludes replacement of a tooth that was already missing when coverage began. |
Quick Facts
Canadian Dental Care Plan (CDCP)
Property | Value |
Administrator | Sun Life |
Policy owner | Health Canada / Employment and Social Development Canada |
Current guide | Dental Benefits Guide, effective April 1, 2026 |
Implant status | Exclusion (Appendix E), not eligible for reconsideration |
Bone graft status | Exclusion (Appendix E) |
Fixed bridge status | Exclusion (Appendix E) |
Conventional denture status | Covered; partials and overdentures need preauthorization |
Co-payment tiers | 100% / 60% / 40% by adjusted family net income |
Single-tooth dental implant
Property | Value |
Components | Fixture, abutment, crown |
Timeline | 3 to 6 months from placement to final crown |
Typical BC range (2026) | $3,500 to $6,500 all-in |
10-year survival | 96.4% implant level (Howe et al., 2019) |
CDCP status | Excluded |
Typical private coverage | About 50%, up to a $1,000 to $2,500 annual maximum |
Camden Dental
Property | Value |
Location | 2060 McCallum Rd #302, Abbotsford, BC V2S 3N4 |
Phone | 604-850-2116 |
Dentists | Dr. Allison Atchison, Dr. Pin Gill |
Article reviewer | Dr. Pin Gill, DMD (University of Manitoba, 2012) |
Consultation includes | Exam, CBCT scan, itemised written estimate, insurance predetermination |
Booking |
Sources
Bluebird Dental, "How Much Do Dental Implants Cost in BC? A Kamloops Dentist Explains," July 2026. https://bluebirddentalbc.ca/blog/dental-implant-cost-bc/
Parkside Dental Group, "Dental Implants Cost BC: 2026 Pricing Comparison Guide," April 2026. https://parksidedentalgroup.ca/dental-implants-cost-bc-2026-pricing-comparison-guide/
Willow Dental Care Vancouver, "How Much Is The Cost of Dental Implants in Vancouver, BC?," 2026. https://willowdentalcarevancouver.com/how-much-is-the-cost-of-dental-implants-in-vancouver-bc/
Mount Lehman Dental, "How Much Do Dental Implants Cost in Abbotsford, BC?," May 2026. https://www.mountlehmandental.com/blog/how-much-do-dental-implants-cost-abbotsford/
BC Dental Association, "Cost of Dentistry and Suggested Fee Guide (dentist-facing)," 2026. https://bcdental.org/public-education/cost-of-dentistry/
Employment and Social Development Canada, "Canadian Dental Care Plan: Dental Benefits Guide, effective April 1, 2026," updated August 28, 2026. https://www.canada.ca/en/services/benefits/dental/dental-care-plan/guide.html
Medora Dental, "How Much Do Dental Implants Cost in Abbotsford? 2026," 2026. https://medoradental.com/dental-implants-cost-abbotsford/
Employment and Social Development Canada, "Canadian Dental Care Plan: What is covered," updated August 27, 2026. https://www.canada.ca/en/services/benefits/dental/dental-care-plan/coverage.html
Sun Life, "CDCP Dental Benefit Grids," 2026. https://www.sunlife.ca/sl/cdcp/en/provider/dental-benefit-grids/
Golden Mile Dental, "Does CDCP Cover Dental Implants in Canada? Full review (private insurer coverage table)," 2026. https://www.goldenmiledental.ca/dental-implants-coverage-canada/
Canada Revenue Agency, "Medical expenses you can claim, line 33099," 2026. https://www.canada.ca/en/revenue-agency/services/tax/individuals/topics/about-your-tax-return/tax-return/completing-a-tax-return/deductions-credits-expenses/lines-33099-33199-eligible-medical-expenses-you-can-claim-on-your-tax-return.html
Howe MS, Keys W, Richards D, "Long-term (10-year) dental implant survival: A systematic review and sensitivity meta-analysis. Journal of Dentistry," 2019. https://pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/30904559/
BC Dental Association, "Reduced-cost dental clinics in British Columbia (directory)," 2026. https://bcdental.org/public-education/cost-of-dentistry/reduced-cost-clinics




Comments